Gotta Love It…

Up and ready to begin finishing up my message prep for tomorrow morning… co-teaching our Bring It! series with our Lead Pastor.   I still remember preparing for my very first sermon almost 16 years ago.  Well, my first official sermon… I had spoken publicly a few times, giving 5-10 minute “devotional thoughts” at halftime of a basketball game or for my musicians and vocalists before choir rehearsal.  But my very first official, legitimate message before a congregation… that was something a little different.

I remember – while all the preliminaries were going on during that service… and I was awaiting my turn to speak – thinking to myself, “I was born to do this…” and at that moment – not leading a choir, or playing the piano, or leading a small group, stirred up the passion inside of me like the anticipation of preaching…

… and I still feel that anticipation every single time I am getting ready to speak.  GOTTA LOVE IT!

I have nothing to say, but God uses me anyway.  Now, of course, I have something to say… but what I mean is that preachers don’t speak from any inherent authority whatsoever… it’s simply and all because of the power of God: what He has done, is doing, and will do for those who believe Him and surrender their lives to Him.  “Since God in His wisdom saw to it that the world would never know Him through human wisdom, He has used our foolish preaching to save those who believe.” (1 Corinthians 1:21)

I’m never anxious because I have to preach… I’m always excited because I get to preach… and that God would use this foolish preacher to impact the lives of many…

… GOTTA LOVE IT.

Leave a Reply

