Absolutely Reliable…

“The LORD went ahead of [the children of Israel].  He guided them during the day with a pillar of cloud, and He provided light at night with a pillar of fire… And the LORD did not move the pillar of cloud or pillar of fire from its place in front of the people” (Exodus 13:21-22).

Have you ever met… or do you already know… someone who is just amazingly reliable?  I mean, no matter WHAT it is… if they say they’re gonna do something, it’s as good as done.  They don’t even have to voice the words, “I promise…”  Do you know someone like that?  If you don’t, I bet you WISH you did!

My sons’ maternal grandfather is like that.  I’m not sure I’ve ever met anyone more dependable and reliable than Bernie.  If he says he’s gonna do something, you can count on it.  If he says he’s gonna be somewhere, you can set your watch by him (he’ll be there early).  He never leaves you hanging.

Well, of course, as dependable as Bernie is, he can only be as reliable as he is able to be.  He can’t control whether or not he gets sick, or gets stuck in traffic, or his car breaks down (actually, his car would never break down. He’s a car nut.)  But he can only do as much as he has control over… and being human, there are simply some things that are out of his control.

One of the things that I love about our great God is that He is TOTALLY RELIABLE. Steady.  Dependable.  Trustworthy.  Not just amazingly so.. but absolutely so!  He always keeps His word… He never breaks His promise… He is absolutely, totally, 100% able to be trusted!!

In the Exodus passage above, God was leading the children of Israel through their wilderness wanderings by a pillar of cloud by day and a pillar of fire by night.  No matter what, whenever God’s people looked up, they saw the pillar of cloud or fire.  They never had to look around to see where He went… they never had to wake up any given morning and wonder, “Is the pillar going to be there??”  GOD NEVER MOVED.  He took His rightful position in front of them… and stayed there.  Day or night… He never moved.  Good times or bad… He was always there.  Right where He said He’d be.  Front and center.

You know.. although God doesn’t lead us by cloud or fire, He has promised to never abandon us (Hebrews 13:5).  Like the old hymn says, “Where He leads me, I will follow”, because I know I can trust Him.  I can rely on Him to lead me to the promised land… His place of destiny for my life.  I can depend on Him to always lead me in the right direction… to the right place… and at the right time.

And you can trust Him to lead you, too.  Day or night… good times or bad.  He’ll alwyas be there…

He never moves.

He is amazinglyabsolutely reliable! 😉

3 thoughts on “Absolutely Reliable…

  1. Hi! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this page to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  2. This is great!! I keep waiting for your book to be published! Sometimes we tend to think God is as unreliable as we are, or our friends and family. We put our trust in ourselves and not trust God. But God is faithful when we are not. If we just realized that he is absolutely reliable it would change the course of our lives. Thanks for this!

Leave a Reply

