When Legacies Go Bad…

So, I was reading in Judges 17 & 18 this morning… a strange passage, in my opinion.  It’s about a man named Micah, who had kinda freaked out bc he overheard his moms ‘pronouncing a curse’ on the person who stole her 1,100 shekals of silver (a LOT of money).  Oh yeah… he freaked out, because he was the one who stole it!  So, we see from jump that this dude is a real piece of work.

So, he returns the money and his mom uses some of the silver to make an idol (someone say, “Awwwww!!!  She’s not supposed to do that!!”)  It ends up being placed in Micah’s house, and he builds a shrine so he can build MORE idols… and installs one of his sons as his personal priest.  What kind of craziness is that??  But then, we read this:

In those days Israel had no king; all the people did whatever seemed right in their own eyes” (Judges 17:5).

Ahhh… okay, I get it. Makes sense now.  This is a crazy bunch of crazy people!

Okay, so then Micah meets this Levite who’s passing through town, and persuades him to come and work for him as his personal priest.  Sidebar: God had ordained, out of all the tribes of Israel, that the Levites were to be His priests.  Micah, btw, was an Ephraimite.  Just sayin.  So, he HIRES this priest… then, fast forward to chapter 18… some men from the trible of Dan come and steal away the Levite to be THEIR personal priest… as well as steal away Micah’s shrine of idols.  Micah chases after them, but realizes he’s outnumbered… he basically turns around and goes home.

Now… honestly… I’m reading all of this, and I’m saying, “Lord, what does this have to do with anything??”  I mean, I get that everyone in Israel was doing their own thing… and it shows in the craziness that is Micah.  So, I kept reading.  These men of the trible of Dan went and slaughtered some peaceful town (bullies!!)… and then… something else caught my attention… and I mean caught my attention BIGTIME… in chapter 18, verse 30:

“Then they set up the carved image, and they appointed Jonathan son of Gershom, son of Moses,[c] as their priest. This family continued as priests for the tribe of Dan until the Exile.”

SHUT DA FRONT DOOR!!!!  Are you kidding me??  Moses’ grandson is involved in this crazines????  Then, the Holy Spirit spoke to my heart: “You can accomplish great things for the Kingdom… impacting many lives… and still not leave a legacy of godliness and obedience in your family.”  Moses was the leader of Israel… God used him mightily… but just two generations removed, his lineage turns to idol worship… and they stay that way for the next several generations.

WOW.  I wanna now ask a whole LOTTA questions… like, Where the heck was Gershom when God was performing all those miracles through his daddy??  Didn’t he remember how God killed his cousins for their disobedience? (Lev. 10)  But maybe Gershom followed in his dad’s footsteps… we don’t know… so, let’s not blame him.  Maybe his son Jonathan just went astray.  Totally possible, especially with all the negative influence going around throughout the nation.

This is why God commands us (Deut. 6) to impress his law upon the hearts of our children.  Talk about God’s Word and instructions all the time.  Write them down, and put them where our kids can see them.  God and His Word should be SO CENTRAL to our lives, that it becomes natural for our children to follow in our steps.  I know, I know… we can do all we’re supposed to do, and our kids still turn out a mess.  I understand that.  But I think there’s a far less chance of that happening when we take heed to Deuteronomy 6.  Because if we DON’T, then we’re almost assuring them of a life that’s not impacted in a major way by God.

I don’t intend for that to happen in my family.  I can already see the world rubbing off on my sons… and Judges 18:30 scares the daylights out of me.

I’ve got work to do.  Maybe you do, too.

Leave a Reply

